Posted in Writing

Introverts, Cats, and Writing

How can you write great character interactions? Well you might have heard some famous writers saying “carry a note pad and write down interesting conversations”. But let’s be honest. Most writers have regular jobs, and when you are trying to catch up on your word count, you might not have the time or money to sit in a coffee shop for hours waiting for something interesting to happen.  I present a solution, and you won’t even need to leave your home.  I bet you have pets, if you don’t, I’m sorry for your loss. I have had fish, frogs, birds, cats, dogs, mice, and worked with horses, so you could say I’m an animal person. But what does this have to do with you? Well just look at the way your pets interact with one another. My cat’s hate each other, one cat loves my dogs, the other doesn’t, but how do I know that? Like most people, I anthropomorphize my pets and I use the things they do to one another as fuel for my character’s.  I recently finished an entire book where the two main characters were my cats playing the part of people. If you don’t have pets or only have one, check out your local animal shelter, especially if your story takes place in a prison. For a more up close and personal feel with the shelter pets, try fostering kittens or puppies, or even pet sitting for your friends.

Leave a Reply

