Posted in Writing

How Focusing on Sound can Make Your Writing Better

Today I was assigned to stop and listen to the world for seven minutes. This was quite the eye opening thing for me and I ended up continuing to listen on my walk home. I realized there were many sounds I didn’t notice at all before. Taking the time to listen to the world around me helped me write better sentences today. For example:

The hum of motors filled my ears as the cars drove past.

Turned into

The hum of the little cars was interrupted by rumbling of a truck that sped by.

One of these is much more unique than the other. By listening I found that different shoes make unique sounds that I can use as foreshadowing. I also ended up writing a whole paragraph based off of the lack of sound in some situations. So if you have the chance, instead of ease dropping, just stop and listen to what you usually won’t hear.

Leave a Reply

